Superpower

IMG_342851009523850

Lately, I’ve been thinking about what it is I want to do and be in the next season.

Who do I want to be?

Who do I want to be today?

do know that I want to live a good life of kindness, adventure, family, friends, and …skiing.

I also want to fly. And then jump out of airplanes. Swing on the bottom of a bungee line over the Zambezi river. Stoke a fire in good company and amid excellent stories.

I want to notice people…to truly see them and – if it seems appropriate or needed – to reflect back to them what I see in them.

One day – crazy enough – it would be great to fall in love and cultivate – curate – a history of life with another.

Crazy, I know.

Crazy good, I hope.

And that sort of hope is almost as ridiculously far-fetched as learning to fly.

So in this way, perhaps, I already have a superpower.

Though battered and biffed up, I – like many who are walking scarred – am hopeful.

In this world of tyranny and consumption, the people around me remind me to believe in the better and the best – of community, hope, and healing.

That we can lay down our best-interests in the hope that kindness will matter.

Our lives lived in all of the dailyness can impact the bigger “life” for good.

It is hope that propels friends and strangers to feed the hungry, embrace the suffering, listen to the feeble and vintage-folk –

Hope that a moment is enough of a ripple to change the ocean currents.

Perhaps you have a superpower, too – of time, imagination, process, patience…flowers left on the doorstep.

It’s time to unmask and offer that superpower to a weary world.

Love.

That’s my favorite superpower.

Flying is next up.

About allielousch

Engaged in everyday adventures and derring do.
This entry was posted in Frydays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Superpower

  1. Crock says:

    Let me join! However…I’ll pass on bungee jumping. Thanks for sharing your superpowers – you love well.

  2. Alycia says:

    Absolutely beautiful Allie and I agree.

Leave a Reply

