More to this Life

IMG_20140329_191251

While driving along winding country roads today, “Epilogue” from Les Miserables shuffled through my playlist. My gosh. The tears.

“Take my hand
I’ll lead you to salvation
Take my love
For love is everlasting
And remember
The truth that once was spoken
To love another person
Is to see the face of God

Do you hear the people sing
Lost in the valley of the night?
It is the music of the people
Who are climbing to the light

For the wretched of the earth
There is a flame that never dies
Even the darkest night will end
And the sun will rise

They will live again in freedom
In the garden of the Lord
We will walk behind the ploughshare;
We will put away the sword.
The chain will be broken
And all men will have their reward

Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
Is the world you long to see.
Do you hear the people sing?
Say, do you hear the distant drums?
It’s the future they bring
When tomorrow comes…
Tomorrow comes.

My thoughts puddled with the tears on my dusty and torn running tee.

*  *  *

Years ago (eons) a fella, Steven Curtis Chapman, released a song called More to this Life.” It is a kind and gentle song. This evening as I sat down to work on another project, it burbled up on my playlist.

I hit repeat several times.

“More to this life
Than living and dying
More than just trying to make it through the day

But in the morning light
It looks the same
Life just goes on…”

I’ve decided to be quiet for the next many hours and just let the questions and not-knowing wash over.

Sit by the sea of them and listen to the waves
No way to know what really lives in those depths
Unless I take the time to dive in 

Take my hand
Even the darkest night will end
They will live again in freedom
The chain will be broken
When tomorrow comes
Tomorrow comes.

More to this life.

More. To. This. Life.

I sure hope so.

I will pick myself up
Dust off my neon pink Chuck Taylors
And search the foggy depths again.

Life is too precious to let it go by because it is also hard.
As tempting as a life of small plans can be
I have heard that there is more.

My curiosity and a tiny sliver of hope
Move me forward.
Searching for the North Star…somewhere beyond the barricade.

 

About allielousch

Engaged in everyday adventures and derring do.
This entry was posted in Happiness-es and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More to this Life

  1. ShelleyC says:

    Standing ovation!

Leave a Reply

